The Seven Sorrows of Mary & The Promises to Those Who Meditate Upon Them Daily

The Seven Sorrows of Mary & The Promises to Those Who Meditate Upon Them Daily

Are you familiar with the devotion of Our Lady of Sorrows? If not, this is a wonderful Catholic devotion to meditate upon daily.

The Church celebrates the feast of Our Lady of Sorrows on Sept. 15, immediately following the feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross.

Mary presented several promises to St. Bridget of Sweden to those who devote themselves to the seven sorrows of her heart. But first, let’s look at her heart’s sorrows.

Mary’s Seven Sorrows, as presented in Scripture:

1) The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2: 34-35)

2) The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2: 13-21)

3) The Loss of Jesus for Three Days (Luke 2: 41-50)

4) The Carrying of the Cross (John 19: 17)

5) The Crucifixion of Jesus (John 19: 18-30)

6) Jesus Taken Down from the Cross (John 19: 39-40)

7) Jesus Laid in the Tomb (John 19: 39-42)

St. Alphonsus Liguori revealed in his book, The Glories of Mary, that Jesus has four promises for those who devote themselves to Mary’s seven sorrows:

1) “That those who invoke the divine mother by her sorrows, before death will merit to obtain true repentance of all their sins.”

ALSE SEE:  Why Do Catholics Pray to Saints?

2) “That he will protect such in their tribulations, especially at the hour of death.”

3) “That he will impress upon them the memory of his passion, and that they shall have their reward for it in heaven.”

4) “That he will commit such devout servants to the hands of Mary, that she may dispose of them according to her pleasure, and obtain for them all the graces she desires.”

The Virgin Mary also presented her own promises to St. Bridget of Sweden for those who devote themselves to her sorrowful heart. Mary asks that the devotee prays one Hail Mary in honor of each of her sorrows.

Mary’s Seven Promises:
1) “I will grant peace to their families.”

2) “They will be enlightened about the divine Mysteries.”

3) “I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them
in their work.”

4) “I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of My divine Son or the sanctification
of their souls.”

ALSE SEE:  Matt Damon asks for prayers: "We need you to pray for us"

5) “I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”

6) “I will visibly help them at the moment of their death — they will see the face of their Mother.”

7) “I have obtained this grace from My divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to My tears and sorrows will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and My Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”

In his book The Glories of Mary, St. Alphonsus Liguori includes meditations for each one of Mary’s seven sorrows. You can download the book for here, and the meditations begin on page 537. There are also additional prayers to Our Lady of Sorrows in the book.

Does this inspire you to begin a devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows?


  1. Trinidad Cortez March 7, 2019
  2. Rose wager April 2, 2020
  3. Felicis September 1, 2020

Leave a Reply